top of page

Pitching Products for Beginners

Updated: Oct 25, 2021

My freshman year of college, I worked at a tanning salon. I had a few years of working in retail prior to getting this job. My first day on the job, they handed me a book to study over all of the expensive tanning products. These products were very pricey. One bottle of tanning intensifier lotion was $97. I was shocked.

My boss told me to study the benefit and ingredients of each lotion, and then would quiz me over each item. I thought to myself, who would ever buy a $100 bottle of tanning lotion?

Pitching is simple really. I took a few perks from each page of the binder and memorized two or three points about the lotions. Whenever a customer would ask to buy a lotion, I always started with my favorite lower-priced one, them a middle-priced bottle, and then an expensive, luxury one.

If they were looking to buy a lotion, they were most likely planning on spending a good amount of money. I made sure to highlight that the luxury items would last them the longest and benefit their skin the most. The expensive ones were the smartest option because they wouldnt have to get a new bottle in the next month.

When pitching, I always made sure to say how the pricier ones have benefits that you csn't get from the cheaper bottles. While yes, the cheaper bottles will still do the job you have to inform the customer that the pricier ones will do the job and more.

Pitching to a customer when they already know what they want is a lot different. They may be loyal to a brand already. When this would happen, I would say we just got this new lotion and everyone has been raving about it. This opens the conversation for you to pitch. Tell them what they can get from this product that they can't from the one they already use.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is PR design?

As this semester comes to a close, I wanted to reflect on what I learned in my PR design course. Throughout the semester, I got to play...

Comentaris


bottom of page